Graflex.org Forum Index Graflex.org
Get help with your Graflex questions here

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Electronic flash with Crown Graphic problems

View previous topic :: View next topic  
ardmoreit

PostPosted: Mon May 29, 2017 1:05 am    Post subject: Electronic flash with Crown Graphic problems Reply with quote

Hello,

I'm new to Graflex and need help getting my electronic handle mount flash to work with my Graflex Optar 135mm f4.7 lens with Graphex shutter. The camera is a Pacemaker Crown Graphic that is a1955 or later version because it has the top mounted Graflex Rangefinder.

The Optar lens has both the bi post, and a solenoid on it. It has four flash settings on the lower right: black "M', red "M', F-X, and Off. I've purchased a Paramount brand female PC to Bi-post Graflex flash extension cord that I've connected to a PC male to PC male cord. Together I've attached both flash cords and secured the male PC to the electronic flash unit, and the Bi-post end of the flash cord to the Bi-post on the lens.

My original Graflex Pacemaker owner manual says to place the sync selector on F-X for using electronic flash which I've done. The manual says to use any shutter speed.

When I test the flash unit it only fires the flash about 1 to 4 times when first hooking it up and powering up the flash then it won't work at all until putting it away and trying it again another day. Of course, I'm testing it without film, but I can't figure out why the flash initially works and then quits working. I think the synchronization is working because when it does fire I can see through the ground glass that it syncs with the chosen shutter speed.